Security Council

The United Nations Security Council is a permanent body of the United Nations, which according to article 24 of the UN Charter is charged with the maintenance of international peace and security. It is one of the six “main” bodies of the Organization.

There are 15 members of the Security Council, five of them are permanent. These include Russia, China, France, the United Kingdom, and the United States. The other 10 are non-permanent members; every year half of them are elected for a two-year term. Every member of the Security Council has one vote. The permanent members have the right of veto when a voting is held within the Council.

Under the UN Charter, all the UN member states agree to obey decisions of the Security Council and act according to them. While all the other UN bodies give recommendations to governments, the Council has the right to take decisions which member states are obliged to respect.