The UN International Law Commission was established under the UN GA resolution 174 (II) of November 21, 1947. Its mandate includes “the promotion of the progressive development of international law and its codification” (article 1 of the Statute of the International Law Commission). The Commission meets annually in Geneva and submits its reports to the General Assembly. The body is made up of 34 members who act in their personal capacity and are elected by the General Assembly from among the persons included into the list upon the suggestions of the governments of member states.

Since its establishment, the Commission has elaborated the projects of the principle international treaties – such as the Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties of 1969, the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations of 1961, the Vienna Convention on Consular Relations of 1963, and a number of fundamental international treaties in the sphere of international law of the sea. Today, the Commission is studying such important matters as “Reservations to international treaties”, “the Accountability of international organizations”, “the Affects of armed conflicts on international treaties”, “the Deportation of foreigners”, “the Commitment to extradite or prosecute”, “the Protection of people in case of disasters”, “the Immunities of public officials from foreign crime jurisdiction”, “Treaties through the prism of time”, and ‘’the Clause of the most favoured nation”.

The Russian Federation participates actively in the work of this expert body. Soviet and then Russian representatives have always been elected as members of the Commission.